Stravinsky: Symphony of Psalms, Symphony in C, Symphony in Three Movements

London Symphony Orchestra

Stravinsky's own performances of his orchestral works (also issued by Sony), whatever their technical shortcomings, are the place where we start consideration of recordings. Michael Tilson Thomas is a better leader of orchestras than Stravinsky was. His musicians play (and sing) more precisely for him, and of course they are far better recorded. So, actually, this is a highly attractive disc, and can be recommended as a good second opinion. The rhythmic impulse of Stravinsky's own performances, though, remains unique and definitive.

- Leslie Gerber

Track listing:

Symphony of Psalms, for chorus & orchestra
1. Part I. Exaudi orationem meam 3:09
2. Part II. Expectans expectavi Dominum 6:45
3. Part III. Alleluja. Laudate Dominum 12:13

Symphony in C, for orchestra in C major
4. I. Moderato alla breve 9:02
5. II. Larghetto concertante 5:50
6. III. Allegretto 4:46
7. IV. Largo – Tempo giusto, alla breve 7:23

Symphony in Three Movements, for orchestra
8. I. Overture. Allegro 9:20
9. II. Andante – Interlude: L’istesso tempo 6:23
10. III. Con moto 6:15

Stay in Touch


Social Media