Gershwin: Rhapsody in Blue

Los Angeles Philharmonic

Gershwin: Rhapsody In Blue, Etc / Tilson Thomas was released Mar 24, 1987 on the CBS Masterworks label.

Columbia combined two strong George Gershwin albums, "George Gershwin (1898-1937)" and "Gershwin on Broadway," on one compact disc "Gershwin: Rhapsody In Blue, Etc / Tilson Thomas". It's not a definitive Gershwin collection, but it's a strong, enjoyable one nevertheless, and is a good choice for neophytes.

- Stephen Thomas Erlewine

This album is dedicated to Ira Gershwin, whose faith and guidance made it all possible.


Track Listing:

1. Rhapsody In Blue

2. An American In Paris

3. Overture: Oh, Kay

4. Overture: Funny Face

5. Overture: Girl Crazy

6. Overture: Strike Up The Band

7. Overture: Of Thee I Sing

8. Overture: Let ‘Em Eat Cake

9. Promenade: (Walking The Dog)

10. Fascinating Rhythm

Total Playing Time: 53:49


Digitally recorded using the Soundstream and Sony systems
Recorded at the Dorothy Chandler Pavilion, Los Angeles, and RCA Studio A, New York City
Premiere recordings of “Short Story,” “Violin Piece,” “Sleepless Night” and “Walking the Dog.”
Premiere recording of the restored edition of “Second Rhapsody” on Track 5.

Stay in Touch


Social Media