MTT & San Francisco Symphony embark on Asia tour

Nov 5, 2012

MTT and the San Francisco Symphony cross the Pacific this November, embarking on a six-city, ten-concert Asian tour that sees the Orchestra’s debut in Beijing (November 16) and return performances in Hong Kong (November 8 & 9), Taipei (November 10 & 11), Shanghai (November 14 & 15), Beijing (November 16) and Tokyo (November  19 & 20). The tour opens November 7 with the Orchestra’s debut at the Macau Cultural Center.
Pianist Yuja Wang, a native of Beijing, joins MTT and the Orchestra as soloist in all six cities on the tour, performing Rachmaninoff’s Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini and Prokofiev’s Piano Concerto No. 2. MTT will also conduct the Orchestra in performances of Mahler’s Symphony No. 5, Rachmaninoff’s Symphony No. 2, and music by three American composers: John Adams’s Short Ride in a Fast Machine, Lou Harrison’s “The Family of the Court” from Pacifika Rondo and Henry Cowell’s Music 1957.

Education and Outreach

MTT and the San Francisco Symphony have planned a variety of educational and outreach activities in China. MTT and the SFS musicians will lead a day of master classes with students from the Shanghai Conservatory of Music on November 13. The SFS Music Director will also lead a master class in conducting for Conservatory students and conduct the Shanghai Conservatory Youth Symphony musicians.

Stay in Touch


Social Media