Livestream: Watch MTT’s Americana on May 8

May 5, 2021

On May 8, Michael Tilson Thomas returns to the podium for the first time since the COVID-19 pandemic began to conduct the New World Symphony in a program titled “MTT’s Americana.” The concert presents works by American composers William Grant Still, Conlon Nancarrow, Aaron Copland, Carl Ruggles, and Charles Ives. The performance features NWS alumnus Billy Hunter on trumpet in Copland’s Quiet City. The concert will be livestreamed on the NWS website at 7:30pm ET. Tickets are $25, and can be purchased here.


  • Still: Patterns
  • Nancarrow: Prelude and Blues
  • Copland: Quiet City
  • Nancarrow: Sonatina
  • Ruggles: Angels
  • Ives: Three Places in New England

Stay in Touch


Social Media