MTT & San Francisco Symphony in September

Aug 15, 2018

Music Director Michael Tilson Thomas leads the San Francisco Symphony in the music of Castiglioni, Ravel, Copland, and Stravinsky this September.

From September 13 to 16, MTT reunites with pianist Yuja Wang for Ravel’s Piano Concerto in D Major for the Left Hand. He also leads the SFS in performances of Castiglioni’s Inverno in-ver, featuring video by Clyde Scott and lighting design by Luke Kritzeck, and Copland’s Appalachian Spring.

Opening Night Gala: MTT & San Francisco Symphony open 2018/19 season with Itzhak Perlman

Aug 9, 2018

On September 5, Music Director Michael Tilson Thomas and the San Francisco Symphony hold their 2018/19 season opening gala, taking the stage with violinist Itzhak Perlman.

MTT conducts the orchestra in Gershwin’s An American in Paris and joins Itzhak Perlman for a selection of music from Hollywood classics including Cinema Paradiso and Schindler’s List. Proceeds from the opening night gala benefit the SFS’s many artistic, community, and education programs.

Discover this year’s opening gala

MTT returns to Tanglewood

Jul 11, 2018

Michael Tilson Thomas returns to Tanglewood in Lenox, MA for two performances this August.

MTT reunites with the Boston Symphony Orchestra on August 12, leading a performance of his work Agnegram, Mahler’s First Symphony, and – with pianist Igor Levit – Rachmaninoff’s Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini.

On August 25, MTT takes the stage of Koussevitzky Music Shed for the Bernstein Centennial Celebration at Tanglewood. He leads the Boston Symphony Orchestra and joins an array of artists and ensembles from the worlds of classical music, film, and Broadway in celebrating Bernstein’s legacy. The concert features performances by:

Andris Nelsons, Christoph Eschenbach, Keith Lockhart, Michael Tilson Thomas, & John Williams: conductors
Audra McDonald: host and vocalist
Midori: violin
Yo-Yo Ma: cello
Kian Soltani: cello
Nadine Sierra: soprano
Susan Graham: mezzo-soprano
Isabel Leonard: mezzo-soprano
Thomas Hampson: baritone
Jessica Vosk and Tony Yazbeck: vocalists
Tanglewood Festival Chorus

Discover MTT’s Tanglewood season today

MTT launches Carnegie Hall Perspectives series with NYO-USA in July

Jun 13, 2018

Michael Tilson Thomas continues his career-spanning commitment to fostering musical excellence and innovation in young musicians as he launches his Carnegie Hall Perspectives series this summer, leading the National Youth Orchestra of the United States of America at Carnegie Hall and on a tour of Asia.

Before opening the Perspectives series with a performance on July 19 at Carnegie Hall, MTT’s work with the NYO-USA kicks off with workshops and rehearsals in Purchase, NY. In an effort to reach the younger musicians of the NYO2 program, MTT’s New World Symphony partners with Carnegie Hall to offer mentorship between NWS Fellows and NYO2 musicians both in New York and at the New World Center in Miami Beach.

MTT leads the NYO-USA on a five-city Asia tour in July and August, which includes the orchestra’s debut performances in Taipei, Seoul, and Daejeon.

In New York City and across Asia, MTT conducts the NYO-USA in Gershwin’s Piano Concerto in F Major with Jean-Yves Thibaudet, the world premiere of Ted Hearne’s Brass Tacks (a Carnegie Hall commission), and Sibelius’s Symphony No. 2.

Discover MTT’s activities with the NYO-USA and his Carnegie Hall Perspectives series.

Wrapping San Francisco Symphony season with ‘Boris Godunov,’ music of Sibelius & Wagner

May 31, 2018

San Francisco Symphony Music Director Michael Tilson Thomas closes the 2017/18 season at Davies Symphony Hall with three programs this June.

MTT takes up the baton to lead a semi-staged production of Mussorgsky’s Boris Godunov, directed by James Darrah, on June 14, 15 & 17. The concerts highlight performances by Stanislav Trofimov in the title role, Eliza Bonet as Fyodor, Jennifer Zetlan as Xenia, Silvie Jensen as the Nurse, Yevgeny Akimov as Prince Shuisky, Aleksey Bogdanov as Andrei Shchelkalov, Maxim Zuzmen-Karavaev as Pimen, Sergei Skorokhodov as Grigory, and Vyacheslav Pochapsky as Varlaam.

From June 21 to 24, MTT and the SFS are joined by Daniil Trifonov for Rachmaninoff’s Piano Concerto No. 3 in a program that also comprises Sibelius’s Sixth and Seventh Symphonies.

MTT and the SFS wrap the season with performances of Mahler’s Third Symphony from June 28 to 30, taking the stage with mezzo-soprano Sasha Cooke, the Pacific Boychoir, and the Women of the San Francisco Symphony Chorus.

MTT appears at Carnegie Hall with Pretty Yende & MET Orchestra

May 16, 2018

Michael Tilson Thomas returns to the Carnegie Hall stage for a performance with soprano Pretty Yende and The MET Orchestra on June 5.

MTT conducts Ruggles’s Evocations, Mozart’s Exsultate, jubilate, and Mahler’s Symphony No. 4. He is back at Carnegie Hall starting in July 2018 for his season-long Perspectives series.

MTT returns to conduct London Symphony Orchestra on tour in May

Apr 25, 2018

London Symphony Orchestra Conductor Laureate Michael Tilson Thomas returns to conduct the orchestra in London and on a tour of Europe this spring. They are joined by violinist Ray Chen; singers Joélle Harvey, Sasha Cooke, Toby Spence, and Luca Pisaroni; and pianist Jan Lisiecki along the tour.

MTT leads the LSO in the music of Sibelius, Beethoven, and Berlioz.

Discover the tour

MTT closes 2017/18 academic season with New World Symphony

Apr 19, 2018

To close the New World Symphony’s 30th anniversary academic season, NWS Co-Founder and Artistic Director Michael Tilson Thomas leads the orchestra in music by Ligeti and Mahler.

The performances on May 5 & 6 at Miami Beach’s New World Center feature Ligeti’s Lontano and Mahler’s Symphony No. 9.

Photo: Rui Dias Aidos

Load more

Stay in Touch


Social Media